Menu
Menu
Committees > Amicus

Amicus

Amicus

The Amicus Committee gives the Association a voice in important cases pending before the Federal Circuit and the Supreme Court. Each year, the Amicus Committee considers numerous requests that the Association participates in cases at all phases of the appellate process, which present issues in multiple areas of the Federal Circuit’s jurisdiction. The Committee assesses these requests, and recommends to the Board whether and how to become involved. If the Board approves a recommendation for participation, the Committee oversees and assists in preparing amicus briefs for filing.

Members and officers of the Association who serve in the public sector do not participate in the Association’s consideration of whether to file amicus briefs, the preparation of amicus briefs, or the final review and authorization of Association briefs. This is such an important matter to the Association that its standard amicus brief practice includes language to the following effect: Association members who are government employees played no role in deciding whether to file this brief or in developing the content of this brief.

Amicus Committee Procedures

Amicus Committee Processes

Amicus Action Item

 

Committee Chairs

Morgan Chu
Irell & Manella LLP
mchu@irell.com

Frank A. Angileri
Brooks Kushman PC
fangileri@brookskushman.com

Committee Vice-Chairs

Matthias A. Kamber
Keker & Van Nest LLP
mkamber@kvn.com

Laura Lydigsen
Brinks Gilson & Lione 
llydigsen@brinksgilson.com

Erik Puknys
Finnegan
erik.puknys@finnegan.com

Rachel Hughey
Merchant & Gould P.C.
rhughey@merchantgould.com

William McCabe
Perkins Coie LLP
wmccabe@perkinscoie.com

Andrea Jeffries
Jones Day
ajeffries@jonesday.com

 

 

Committee
Board Liaisons
 

Board Liaison to be announced
by Board of Directors

  • Federal Circuit Bar Association®
  • 1620 I Street NW, Suite 801, Washington, DC 20006
  • Phone: 202-466-3923
  • Fax: 202-833-1061
  • Login